SOLC: Laundry

sols_6“I love you, Mom,” my college son said, walking in with his full laundry basket.

Laundry has been a topic I have written about in the past, in a post and in my mind’s notebook. It’s a recurring topic because much time is invested in this chore. Laundry. Just saying the name brings an array of feelings, thoughts, and sighs.

I want to say much time is invested in completing this chore. But completion is the issue – It’s. NEVER. done.

I’ve decided I don’t hate the chore. I find myself thinking about the person and praying for them too. The music in the room cheers my heart and brings energy.  I just like to check things off my list.  Laundry even gets a “did that” line through it most Saturdays.

But completed – hardly!

11 Responses to SOLC: Laundry

  1. mag says:

    I hear you, sister!
    College and scout camp…… It was like the exploding bag. Undo the top string and whoosh ! The rooms fills up with dirty laundry.

  2. Kari Dyer says:

    I dislike laundry, too, because it’s never done, but tonight you’ve challenged me with approaching it with a new and better attitude. I hadn’t thought about praying for the person whose laundry I’m tossing into the washer. Maybe I should try that…it might make the task more enjoyable.

  3. elsie says:

    You know when they walk in with those words, they need something from you. I guess the only way to avoid having some laundry to do is to live in a nudist colony. In that case I will take the laundry. 🙂

  4. tammy says:

    I do my college daughters laundry each weekend too. However she folds everyones. I do not like folding so I think I get the good end of the deal. 🙂

  5. Beth says:

    I am lucky…my husband does all the laundry…sometimes I will fold, but it is never-ending! Laundry though is a great excuse to come home!

  6. Dina says:

    When I read your title, I thought of dusting! Haha it is the one chore that I can do, go to another room, and feel like I missed something when I come back.

  7. Chris H. says:

    So true. Imagine this: my dog is afraid of the sound of the washing machine. She stands, trembling in a corner of the living room through each entire wash, including the rinse and spin cycles. It is so hard to keep up with it when we know it’s so upsetting to her!

  8. Tam says:

    Can’t think of a better way to do fold the laundry but with prayer. Love that idea. Yes, it’s never done just like grocery shopping.

  9. macrush53 says:

    Thankfully my husband does the laundry. It’s such a never ending chore.

  10. Ah laundry. The not-so-bad but never-ending job…

  11. mrssurridge says:

    I’m weird, but I think laundry is one of my easiest chores. Of course, there are only two of us…I hate cleaning the shower much more! Folding is not my favorite thing but it’s one of the things my husband has told me over and over that he appreciates so I do it with more of a happy heart. However, I’ve never prayed for him while I’ve folded and I love, love, love that idea and it will now be part of my practice. Thanks for the inspiration.

Leave a Reply

