Harley Moments: Snuggles

Lessons I'm Learning About Our Loving God

Harley Moments:
Lessons I’m Learning About Our Loving God

I love my dog.

Harley loves to snuggle. If a lap is available, he is quick to find residence in it. Within the first few moments we met Harley at the Animal Shelter, he was enticed to hop on Elizabeth’s lap. He gladly accepted the invitation and has been a lap lover ever since.

On most occasions, including this writing, my lap is unavailable and so he snuggles beside me. He’s an expert at saddling beside you and maneuvering in for a comfortable position. Harley does not hesitate with his wish to be close, cuddling in.

The invitation was given and Harley wholeheartedly obliged. Permission granted to cuddle has been accepted every day since. My dog basks in the closeness give to him. He bathes in the love provided for him and reciprocates his adoration. Harley snuggles in the knowledge of his adoption.

My God, how you must love me! I am a Harley, a being who desires love, acceptance, and belonging by my Savior, my God. Why is this yearning so hard to grasp? Why do I question and debate invisible stipulations? Why do I doubt God can just envelope me unconditionally? The negative reasoning is no match for You.

I love my dog.

But you, God, … you love me more!

With tears streaming, my soul is humbled, gratified, and amazed at this all-accepting love God gifts to me.

Psalm 13:5-6 “But I trust in your unfailing love; my heart rejoices in your salvation. I will sing to the Lord, for He has been good to me.”

One Response to Harley Moments: Snuggles

  1. […] Today’s post comes from our very own Mary Helen Gensch. It was originally posted here. […]

Leave a Reply

