Celebrating!

20131019-194222.jpg
Celebrations bring joy in the ordinary and extraordinary. Share what you are celebrating at Ruth Ayres Writes. Notice the little things. See what delight you can find!

One: I am celebrating writing. Yes, real writing. I have been getting up in the mornings early enough to have devotions and write. Friday, as I was writing about my dog, an epiphany from the Lord overflowed my heart with so much joy my fingers flew on the written page. I love capturing the moment to reread and savor time and time again.

20131019-200848.jpg

Two: I spent two and a half hours working with my principal in our schoolwide Title One plan during parent/teacher conferences. I can’t say the plan was thrilling, but sharing where our school has been was valuable. Reflecting with him on improvements needed and success to continue was enlightening. I still find it interesting that I had my new principal as a student when I first started teaching 20 years ago here in Indiana. Valuing each child is so important!

Three: Last week, Wes was home for fall break. I wrote my quick thoughts on notepaper in order to not lose the ideas (ever have this problem?). My picture documents my celebrations.

20131020-171141.jpg

9 Responses to Celebrating!

  1. elsie says:

    Savoring the good bits of life brings joy to the writer and the reader. How interesting that your principal was a former student of yours! I wonder what he thinks of that. 🙂

  2. MHG —
    I’m so happy to find you here, joining the celebration. I am even happier to know you are collecting those inspired stories like a wild writer. I’m tempted to call you up and demand you read one to me over the phone. But it is late, and I’ll wait to hear it at BONS. (Or you can call and read it to me!)
    Shine on,
    Ruth

  3. Linda Baie says:

    It’s always lovely to “savor” those things that make our lives good, and I’m happy to see those things here, Mary Helen, to hear about your time in the am, your work with the former student (te he), and having your son home for a break. Time to keep on with the good things!

  4. Terje says:

    Daily writing – I hope I get to celebrate that one day.

  5. Nothing says love like the bond between boy and dog captured in that pic! I love that you have carved out time to write!

  6. Tam says:

    3 things to celebrate! I need to start writing about my 3 gifts I receive from life every day. Thanks for the encouragement.

  7. nanc says:

    oh what a cute, cute pooch…I also love your list….xo nanc

Leave a Reply

