SOL: My Start-Over Wand

Children. Do certain kids come to mind when you hear that word? Your own? Maybe it’s a kid you adore or the one who drives you crazy? I would love to say that I adore every kid I work with, but I don’t.
Truthfully, I really do try to like all the kids I work with. But, sometimes I just tolerate them with a smile on my face. I really do want to adore them. I guess I like them, but sometimes, one or two kids’ behavior is down-right annoying. And since I am being truthful, they bug me.

The thing is the two kids I am thinking of right now are not trying to be annoying (at least the majority of the time). They are just children. They come from different home rules and different social acceptances than my expectation. Usually, they are just being silly. They are first graders, six and seven year olds full of energy, not wanting to sit in a chair and listen to phonics skills. Nope. They want to laugh or wiggle or tell a joke.

Today, at 2:07 p.m., these two boys came in to my room giggling. They had smiles on their faces and were anxious to share their jokes with me. I did listen for a few seconds and then directed their attention to the day’s lesson. One kid’s focus did not turn off from his goofiness, to which I kindly redirected him once, twice, and yes, three times. Finally, I took a deep breath, smiled at the blonde headed student, and said, “J , I really need you with me and we’ve had a rough start. I am going to wave my magic wand and we’ll start over again.”

I smiled, waved my hand over his head bringing a smile to his face, and we began anew again. Intervention time went smooth and J felt good about his learning. He had smiles and participated.

I realized I could have been grouchy (and was heading in that direction), but wanted a positive learning experience.
Not sure how J will be tomorrow, but I sure am glad of the choice I made today.

20131022-211419.jpg

8 Responses to SOL: My Start-Over Wand

  1. elsie says:

    It was the magic of the moment that made the “wand” work, but I think a lot had to do with the sorceress waving the wand. 🙂
    I hope tomorrow is not another giggle fest.

  2. Tara Smith says:

    Well done – we need to wave that magic wand and remember to be kind to our little ones…as you did!

  3. Leigh Anne says:

    May we all have magic wands this week!

  4. Ramona says:

    Maybe that’s the missing tool I need to try out with my afternoon block of 19 boys and 9 girls. Think it will work with sixth graders?
    Kudos to you for the U turn that took you in the right direction today!

  5. No matter what tomorrow brings, at least you’ll still have your Start Over Wand!

  6. Linda Baie says:

    Love it. You actually could get one of those little wands, Mary Helen. Those giggly ones will love it. Your hand certainly worked this time.

  7. I need a magic little “start over” wand too! I have sometimes “pressed the rewind” button — and include backward sounds and actions to start over. We all need the tools to do our best teaching and learning. Thanks for sharing your trick. It’s now in my tool box.

  8. Great honesty in this post – thank you! I love the idea of a start over wand. We all need one! 🙂

Leave a Reply

