Why Are Animals Purple?

Fall is here with all its brilliant colors. I’m amazed at the reds, yellows, oranges mixed with the changing greens and browns. Purple is not a color I often see here in Indiana, although I suspect it shows its shade as well. With the focus on colors, the book, Why Are Animals Purple?, intrigued me. This book is one of several in a series of animal colors by Melissa Stewart.

Purple animals? I thought. I am not sure if I have seen any animal dressed in purple until I turned to the first featured animal – Purple Martins. My dad had one in our yard and taught me about these helpful birds. Do you know they eat 1000 mosquitos daily? Around lake areas, these bird hotels sprinkle the skyline.

Eleven other animals are featured in her book. Key vocabulary, such as predators and attract, are in bold print, repeated distinctly throughout the entries. The photographs zoom in features and allow the reader to be up close and personal. Children will be drawn to this book and learn how color camoflages and defends each in nature.

A 2 minute Youtube video about how Melissa Stewart got her ideas from nature for two of her books.

Savorings in reading and for writing for Why Are Animals Purple?:

  • Vocabulary
  • Thematic Map – at the back of the book, a map represents where each animal can be found
  • Question Lead
  • Personifies the Color Message – It says, “Stay away. This is my home.”
  • Links to websites and other book references for further research
2 Responses to Why Are Animals Purple?

  1. Tam says:

    I am going to look into this book–sounds fascinating. I use your posts to decide what books are best for my grandchildren. This one looks like a “James” book–going to be 5 in January. Thanks again.

  2. elsie says:

    That looks like a great book! I now know that I will stay away from purple animals. Look, don’t touch!

Leave a Reply

