{SOL} Pictures to Hold the Story

Elizabeth and her best friend spent time together. They are managers for the wrestling team. I learn more stories listening to them. :)

Elizabeth and her best friend spent time together. They are managers for the wrestling team. I learn more stories listening to them. 🙂

My blog has been silent but my heart has not. This mother has been gathering comments, moments, laughter to her heart. My children were together for three weeks, filled with family, activity, and stories. The extra snow has us stranded together and we loved it. Between snuggling with my dog or cat, sipping coffee in the early mornings to  rearranging, sorting, and completing projects, we were together. Pictures below will give you a snippet-look into our family time. Loved it all!

Harley loves to lay on the heater during these cold, below zero days.

Harley loves to lay on the heater during these cold, below zero days. While he relaxed, we removed a wall in the basement, opening an area for exercise. Wes also laid carpet in our bathroom. He gave the gift of help.

Three kids hold my heart forever!

Three kids hold my heart forever! With Elizabeth being a junior in high school and Tim a freshman, the moments together are being held on to even more. We loved having Wesley home. He is a natural story teller and brings them out from everyone.

Wes showed me how to do a selfie on my new phone.

Wes showed me how to do a selfie on my new phone.

My sister-in-law is an awesome hostess. We are now treated to having family near by for the holidays.

My sister-in-law is an awesome hostess. We are now treated to having family near by for the holidays.

New Year's Eve was spent together sharing memories, stories of the brothers as kids, dreams for the future, and games for the present.

New Year’s Eve was spent together sharing memories, stories of the brothers (my husband, Rick, and Uncle Bart) as kids, dreams for the future, and games for the present. My niece is adorable, full of life.

Kip has learned to tolerate our new dog. He still loves to purr next to me when I am reading.

Kip has learned to tolerate our new dog. He still loves to purr next to me when I am reading.

Tim is playing basketball and so I was chauffeuring him to practices throughout break. I have a story about his experience.

Tim is playing basketball and so I chauffeured  him to practices throughout break. I have a story about his experience.

Snow hit heavy. The boys went out four times shoveling the drive, casting the huge mound. On the third day, the kids reminisced about forts they had made in the past. With temps below zero, they shoveled out a tunnel and had fun.

Snow hit heavy. The boys went out four times shoveling the drive, creating the huge mound. On the third day, the kids reminisced about forts they had made in the past. With temps below zero, they shoveled out a tunnel and had fun.

Our hearts were wrapped in belonging, loved and embraced! I am thankful.

Our hearts were wrapped in belonging, loved and embraced! I am thankful.

12 Responses to {SOL} Pictures to Hold the Story

  1. I love your picture stories! You your family is darling! They are at the crazy busy time of their lives and I bet so are you. xo

  2. Tam says:

    Lovely snippets of your holiday with family. I love the closing photo of a crocheted heart on your tree–it says it all.

  3. What a beautiful time of year it was for your and your family. (And that snow tunnel. Wow!)

  4. Sounds like you had a Christmas that every mother would treasure. Loved the selfie!
    Bernadette

  5. The pictures did help to tell the story! At the end though I am left with the warmth of family time despite all the snow! 🙂

  6. Linda Baie says:

    What a wonderful gift you were given with the extra snow & cold, Mary Helen. So happy to hear bits about your holiday celebrating with your family. Thank you for taking the time to share.

  7. Donna Smith says:

    Sounds like it couldn’t have been better! Lots of love around there!

  8. Tara Smith says:

    So much to celebrate and find joy in, Mary Helen. Each photograph showed joyful faces, glad to be together.

  9. Ella Otten says:

    Your idea of a picture story is unique and awesome. Pictures can always say everything without the need for words. Your family is beautiful and very busy. I too got to take three weeks off to spend time with my family. It is a good thing your heart is full for the time you do not get to together.

  10. I love the cat pictures! Cats seem to always be the highlight of my day…they’re just so darn cute.

  11. elsie says:

    Joyful post! You have been missed, but now I know all is great in your world, I can rest easy. Hold on to moments before they evaporate, but you will always have the memory (especially when you write).

  12. Ruth Ayres says:

    Of course I love your pictures. And I’m insanely jealous of your title. Great way to work the words, MHG!
    Ruth

Leave a Reply

