Playing with Words

During the AllWrite!!! Summer Institute, I presented a session on looking at craft in books. I ended the session nudging the audience to write: “It is through the act of writing, the act of playing with words that deepens your understanding of writerly craft.”

Yesterday, I practiced. I sat and wrote and sat and wrote. I was focused. I sat and wrote some more.

I played with words. I worked on varying sentences, alliteration, and the power of three. Words were refined, substituted and switched.

Revision definitely takes longer than drafting. And I am so thankful to my writing group and key people for reading my piece, offering suggestions, and being there for moral support.

BIC – it definitely works!

2 Responses to Playing with Words

  1. Linda Baie says:

    So glad to hear it was good. BIC again and again, right?

  2. elsie says:

    Refining the words to be just right is always the tough part. I’m glad you had the opportunity to be a part of the group and get feedback. Awesome!

Leave a Reply

