Technology and Writing {Celebrations}

Displaying photo.PNG

Tellagami allows you to record for 30 seconds on the free app. They love seeing the animated character.

Celebrating my learning from the Digital Literacy Workshop last Saturday. Thank you to Ruth Ayres, Colby Sharp, Franki Sibberson, and Bill Blass.

As a Title I teacher, working with small intervention groups, I have not incorporated much technology into groups. This week, my students were introduced to two apps. Although I’m still fumbling with the technology, their energy for improvement has increased. My spirit was lifted. I was bubbling with joy. My students were proud of their hard work. My goal in using technology is to increase my students’ motivation for persevering through the hard. No, I don’t have it all figured out, but the little I did, have my kids asking for more.

Tellagami app is a favorite. We work on fluency frequently and the children are more than willing to reread for fluency when they know they will be recording on the Tellagami app.

Displaying photo.PNG

The children alternated writing their sentences on the iPad app, Primary Writer, while also practicing in their notebooks. Simple but energizing.

Primary Writer is the other app bringing enthusiasm to learning.

 

2 Responses to Technology and Writing {Celebrations}

  1. elsie says:

    Lucky kids to have someone willing to explore new methods to teach them, even when you are not totally comfortable with it. Keep learning Mary Helen, wish I could have been there too.

  2. Tam says:

    Sounds all good, Mary Helen. Yes, I celebrate you and your efforts to go more tech for the good.

Leave a Reply

