Kids {Celebrations}

20140531-222133-80493943.jpgKids. Students. Munchkins. They are more than part of our job. They are little people we love, invest, and inspire each day.

I am celebrating the hugs from Isabella, the smiles from Chris, and the anticipation from Felicity.

I am celebrating the light-bulb igniting in Keegan, the triumph in Howie, and the trust in Jade.

I am celebrating the knowledge gained in Aiden, the horse-telling stories from Ariah, and the spur of the moment hug from Xander.

One moment this past week made my day. I wrote his comment down immediately. George knew he made me feel special that day and I appreciated it.

We were working on learning the difference the silent e makes in words, changing from a short vowel sound in a CVC word to a long vowel sound in a CVCe word. After seeing the difference between words, the kids began to write the words: cap to cape; hop to hope; Sam to same. They were hearing the 3 sounds but kept forgetting the silent e. All of a sudden, George’s eyes lit up. “I got it!” and he wrote the word fine instead of fin.

I smiled and replied,”How did you get so smart?”

Pointing at me smiling, George said, “Because I have a such a great teacher!”

4 Responses to Kids {Celebrations}

  1. elsie says:

    Oh yeah, he got that right! He does have one smart teacher. Spontaneity from students always makes the day special.

  2. MaryHelen says:

    Thanks, Elsie. I always appreciate your comments. George is a child who often becomes defensive because he’s being corrected. Yet, he loves coming to group and hugs me. I keep telling myself to look past the refusal and see the potential. This moment I captured. I wanted to let him know how important he was to me. I hope this moment triggers memories you and others have with kids, especially when the going gets tough.

  3. Linda Baie says:

    Ah-so nice that you got them, Mary Helen. It’s such a nice thing when it happens. I love all the good things you wrote in celebration of the others too.

  4. MaryHelen says:

    Thanks, Linda. It is the little things in life that we sometimes forget to notice. Even when the kids see you in the hall and call out your name – just so you notice them. Don’t you just smile?

Leave a Reply

