SOLC: Stop, Drop, Listen

Laughter is rippling from the other room. Spring break is over for our college son and the tales have his siblings in stitches with laughter.

Earlier, Wes called. “Hey Mom, what are you doing tonight?” That question with the anticipation tone informed me my evening would be put on hold. I would drop everything to listen to our son’s stories. Wes shared a story for every picture he shared. He is detailed, giving us a play by play of the baseball games, the Arizona sight seeing, and hotel pranks as well.

I have learned to listen. I trained myself to literally drop what I am doing (even closing the slice I am reading) to listen. I gather the stories. It matters.

5 Responses to SOLC: Stop, Drop, Listen

  1. elsie says:

    You are a good mom. Perfect: stop, drop, listen. Love it!

  2. It does matter. You are modeling for him how a parent can demonstrate love. Plus who would want to miss out on that storytelling! Great he wants to share it with you.

  3. mgminer says:

    It takes a lot of discipline to listen without distraction. I miss those storytelling times at home. My house is quiet these days.

  4. lynnjake says:

    It’s really so great that he wants to share his life with you. Kudos to you as a mom!

  5. One of the most important skills as a mom and a teacher. Be present in the moment and listen … even when it takes time. I love the saying: stop, drop, and listen. Enjoy the stories!

Leave a Reply

