SOLC8: Hugs

“Hi Mrs. Gensch,” a young voice calls, hand waving furiously down the hall. I smile and return the wave. Students are coming into the school, some moving so quickly down the hallway I wonder if their feet touch the floor. Why the hurry? Others mingle around talking to friends.  I continue on to my way, thinking through the last minute items to be completed, my attention not focused on any one place as my legs automatically walk me to my room.

Thwaup! Something has attached itself to my leg. Looking down out of my gaze, my surprise turns to a smile. Two little arms are wrapped tight around me. “Good morning,” the head says looking up at me. I smile. Forget the to do list. This moment is for savoring. “Are you taking me today?” the little one says. I smile and nod in reply. “I will see you this afternoon.” With a wave, she skips off to her kindergarten room.

Best start to the morning!

3 Responses to SOLC8: Hugs

  1. elsie says:

    Now that’s the way to start a day! Such love for her teacher.

  2. I’m jealous of your start. Your slice made me smile

  3. Linda Baie says:

    Love this tiny moment, Mary Helen. It is a great way to start the day.

Leave a Reply

