A Blue Thumb

Flowers adorned my home growing up. The two front bay windows were flanked with beautiful color, African violets of vibrant purples, pinks, and whites. Mom pampaered them. She fed and nurtured them as prized cherubs. Mom had a green thumb.  Recollecting, my memory-picture scans the 20, no 30, probably 40 violets in those window gardens. I can visualize Mom examining each leaf, pruning when needed. Whispers of growth and good will flowed from my mother’s lips. These were her joy!

As traits go, the green thumb inhertance was not willed to me. Oh, I’ve tried. The beauty of flowers definitely invites me to try. I love the colorwheel blended in nature. I like them. I want them. I do not have the patience or persistence for them like my mom. My plant rearing skills are considered a black thumb.

IMG_2953_Original

Like the blue sky enveloping the Earth, I’m a blue thumb. I notice. I observe. I reflect.  Knowledge and nuggets blanket my students. Love enduring covers my family. Listening and laughter spread to my friends.

I may not grow plants, but I’m observant.  I grow minds. I grow encouragement. I grow words. These are my joy!

8 Responses to A Blue Thumb

  1. Ruth Ayres says:

    Hi Mary Helen! I’m glad you wrote today and enjoyed the comparison. You are like the blue sky! You are so good at encouraging people!
    Shine on,
    Ruth

  2. crushlevine says:

    The world needs thumbs of all colors–especially steady, comforting blue thumbs like you! It is nice to read your words again.

  3. That is a new way of thinking about our different gifts. It makes me think more deeply about what I grow and nurture. How beautiful is your blue thumb!

  4. O. Kaye says:

    l really enjoyed how you took something of your mom’s and though you don’t have it to the same extent you, in a way you do have that “gardening” skill. Thank you for that story.

  5. Michelle Nero says:

    Oh, so creative! The blue thumb! I just love that analogy. I grow minds. So, so important! Beautiful! ~michelle

  6. elsie says:

    You grow joy wherever you are! What a treat to read your words again. 🙂 I too am a failure with plants. I am best with those that need to be dusted not watered.

  7. I love this section Mary Helen

    Like the blue sky enveloping the Earth, I’m a blue thumb. I notice. I observe. I reflect. Knowledge and nuggets blanket my students. Love enduring covers my family. Listening and laughter spread to my friends.

    I may not grow plants, but I’m observant. I grow minds. I grow encouragement. I grow words. These are my joy!

    I’m with you. I love nature but I have never been in love that process but hmmm blue sky, blue thumb… I like that!

  8. mrsday75 says:

    Oh, Mary Helen, I love this post. First, I was connecting with your mom and her violets (I’ve named one of mine–and talking to them does help). And then, you talked about your blue thumb and I just smiled. That last paragraph is the best!

Leave a comment