An Writer’s Dream

February 22, 2009

I love books.  And finding a book sale is the best.  On my list of errands, I had stopped by the library this past week and happened on  a book sale.  Going through the children’s books, I found this new treasure, A Sign by George Ella Lyon.  I had never heard of this book, but knowing the author’s craft, I knew I had gem.

George Ella Lyon has a way of painting beautiful pictures with her words.  A Sign did not disappoint me.  She drew me in and I was connected.  The book’s text is simpler, dreamlike.  George Ella shares three  different scenes of careers she imagined being as a child – a neon sign designer, a tightrope walker, and an astronaut.  Although George Ella did not become any of those earlier dreams, she combined her dreams into her writing career.

Now that I am grown I don’t bend glass tubes with fire like Leon Lasseter did

but I try to make words glow.”

“And as for that rocket {…} it’s your heart I send these words to.  They light the dark between us.

Savorings for reading and in writing for A Sign:

  • Everyday dreams
  • Choice words
  • Repeating structure
  • All parts connected
  • Text to text connection – reminds me of When I was Young in the Mountains, a tale of the author’s life