Bucket Filling Philosophy

The other day, I posted about bucket filling. After some lovely comments (thank you, thank you! comments fill my bucket!), I decided to post how I learned about the bucket-filling philosophy.

In the fall of 2007, our school staff read the book, How Full is Your Bucket? Positive Strategies for Work and for Life by Tom Rath with Donald Clifton. The theme is focusing on the positives in interactions with others. I try to be positive and look at the good, but this book really helped me to see how even the littlest smile can affect others and “pay it forward” to others. As a staff, we began to intentionally fill each other with positive actions and comments.

The spring of March 2008, I went to the Michigan Reading Association Conference (MRA) and attended a session on bucket-filling for kids. The room was packed. Carol McCloud shared how to teach children to be bucket-fillers. She read her book, Have You Filled a Bucket Lately? and I was hooked.

Carol presented at the AllWrite!!! Summer Conference in June 2008 and then came to our school on October 31, 2008. Our school was filled with excitement and children went away with smiles. We continue to share the philosophy each year by reading the books and talking about how to fill each other up. Kids get it. It has helped decrease bullying issues as well, another positive effect. ūüôā

To stay current, I receive weekly newsletter from the Bucket Filler Team. You can sign up for it on their website. Short articles of slice of life moments encourage you. When I first began to practice this philosophy, I shared a story with Carol via email, which then was published on June 15, 2008. During the Slice of Life Challenge, I posted a story that warmed my heart.

Dear Fellow Bucket Fillers, 

Daily bucket filling is the simplest, easiest and most important part of bucket filling.  This holiday season, be sure to spread extra holiday joy by filling buckets with special acts of kindness Рand it will fill your bucket too!

 The following link will download our latest e-newsletter:    Week of November 27, 2011

To end, I encourage you to read, Somebody Loves You, Mr. Hatch. The following link is a video clip of Hector Elizondo reading the book on Daily Motion. Although a picture book, the message will touch students and adults of all ages.
I look forward to hearing about your bucket-filling experiences.

 

2 Responses to Bucket Filling Philosophy

  1. Linda Baie says:

    What a great post/story Mary Helen. I signed up for the newsletter, and watched the story + put it on my wish list. There is a class at school who are trying to do something like this & I’ll share with the teacher. They will love every bit! I also will share with our head; what a great thing for a staff to do.

  2. What a great way to teach kids that it feels good to be nice, and not because you have to, but because it is the right thing to do. I also think Somebody Loves You Mr. Hatch would be well received across all grade levels. So many teaching possibilities!

Leave a Reply

