SOLC: Writing Group = Stories!

sols_6May came and we were wishing each other best wishes for the summer. June arrived, filled with new friendships at the AllWrite!!! Summer Institute. But one was missing. July charged us up with cottage chatter and laughter. But one was missing. August began anew and our schedules were jammed. Everyone was missing. October was too far away and so one September night was reserved, anticipated, honored. No one missed.

We arrived with hugs and laughter. The table was set and smiles radiating. We were together. We finally were sharing our stories.

Tam, Ruthie, MH, Tammy with our new notebooks. Thanks my friend!

Tam, Ruthie, MH, Tammy with our new notebooks. Thanks my friend!

Our writing group sometimes writes together, sometimes takes moments for notebook entries, and sometimes shares pieces written. The whole night is about sharing in the writing process – gathering, planning, drafting, revising, editing, and definitely celebrating!! This past Thursday night was mainly about sharing our stories. We listened and questioned, prompted and uplifted. This night was about pouring our thoughts and enjoying our friendship. Without these nights, our writing would be quiet, possibly unnoticed. It would be waiting for any celebration. Without this night, I wouldn’t have been nudged to write from the heart.Harley Moments

I have some new stories that are stirring from the depths of my heart. The writing is not grand, but it is real. This writing is true and has just begun to blossom. My desire to write has hightened and time in the morning is being carved out. This writing may not be published but it will be shared. The story is too meaningful to not share. 

From our BONS night, Ruth lovingly presented each of us with a notebook. Others dear received them too. This notebook came at just the right time to hold the stories growing from my heart. Thank you, my dear friend. Thank you to my BONS. Without your listening, my stories would remain silent.

5 Responses to SOLC: Writing Group = Stories!

  1. “I have some new stories that are stirring from the depths of my heart” I love the sounds of that! It sounds like Harley is inspiring much more than enormous smiles on the faces of your children!!

  2. elsie says:

    A special group of friends who have so many stories and now you have a special notebook to hold the stories that might have slipped away. Your joy radiates in this slice. I’m glad I know you.

  3. Ramona says:

    “One September night was reserved, anticipated, honored.” I love the power in these words and the joy shared in this slice! Write on, my friend.

  4. Bonnie K says:

    I have some new stories that are stirring from the depths of my heart. The writing is not grand, but it is real. This writing is true and has just begun to blossom

    I love this MaryHelen. What good fortune to be a part of this group and to have a magic notebook from Ruth to fill.

  5. Linda Baie says:

    Mary Helen, I haven’t read your posts in a while, & it’s so good to read about your group getting together-a special time recorded. I hope October finds you together again! Best wishes for your stories!

Leave a Reply

