My Name is not …

January 25, 2012

Do you remember daydreaming of being a famous movie star? When I was little, I wanted to be like Shirley Temple. She was the cutest kid, could dance and charm anyone. She said the cutest things and was adorable. As I grew older, my heroine was Jaclyn Smith. Her hair flowed beautifully, she had beautiful skin, and had adventure with style. Oh, if only I could be like her, I would sigh.

Girls love to dress up, pretending to be someone grander than they are. Each dreams of being in the lime light and full of adventure. Jennifer Fosberry captures the little girl dreamer in her book, My Name is Not Isabella: Just How Big Can a Little Girl Dream.

View the one minute book trailer. 🙂

Isabella is a young girl full of hopes and dreams. As she goes through her daily routine, Isabella pretends to be a famous, historical woman. The book encourages children to believe they can achieve any career activity they want.

I am Helen, the greatest, kindest librarian of all.”

Watch the below one minute YouTube video of how illustrator, Mike Litwin, transforms a one page sketch into a colorful scene.

This book will spark ideas for every young student who has dreamed of being someone. It will create conversation around making goals and believing in themselves.

A companion book for boys is called My Name is Not Alexander.

Savorings for reading and in writing for My Name is Not Isabella:

  • Imagination
  • Dreams/ goals
  • Repeating Structure
  • Superlatives – toughest, fastest, bravest, smartest,
  • Bookend – begins day, ends day