Slice of Life 13: Off to Michigan

March 13, 2009

Slice of Life Challenge Hosted by Two Writing Teachers

I have been planning on attending the Michigan Reading Conference since  I left last year.  So, with only a few hours away, I’m psyched.  I enjoy learning and growing and gaining new insights.

But part of my excitement is that I get to be around colleagues ,who are friends, going with the same goal in mind:  learning.  I love being able to process my learning with a friend.  It makes the information even more  memorable.  I usually am able to process a plan of action when discussing  my new learning. 

Having another perspective is also important.  Often what I hear and what my colleagues hear may be different; we’re learning from a different angle.  It’s good. It’s good to think beyond my opinion.  This process of learning also helps me connect with my students.  It gives me a glimpse into there learning.

Leaving for the conference has brought some anxiety on as well.  I was checking with my three children about what they would be wearing for a special event this weekend and also if they knew what outfit they’d wear on Monday for school.  My daughter, a sixth grader, said, “Mom, stop worrying.  You’re worrying too much.” 

“I know,” I replied.  “I just want to make sure you are prepared.”  I’m thankful for cell phones as we’ll be in touch.  A mother’s work is never done.  A teacher’s work is never done.