SOL 20: How Do You Know Baseball Season Has Begun?

Today, I asked my husband, “Do you know how I know baseball season has begun?”

“Uh, Wesley’s baseball cleats are lying in the middle of the floor,” he replied.

“Not this time.”
“Wesley’s bat bag is lying on the couch?” he guessed again.
“Good guess, but not this time – thank goodness.”

My husband thought for a moment and then said, “Got it. You found a pair of dirt-stained baseball pants lying on the bathroom floor?”

“Yes. Scrub, scrub, scrub time is here again,” I pronounced.

Everyday, his white baseball pants have ground-in-dirt stains, deep-red infield stains, or slide-to-catch-the-fly-ball grass stains.  Every night I grab the Oxy Clean and All Stain-Fighting detergent to scrub, scrub, scrub the stains away.

I’m happy to be scrubbing away the winter blues.  Baseball, here we come!

7 Responses to SOL 20: How Do You Know Baseball Season Has Begun?

  1. Elizabeth G. says:

    I will be joining you in scrub, scrub, scrubbing soon. We just picked up the gear. Let baseball season begin.

  2. Linda Baie says:

    I no longer scrub, but am excited for baseball to begin. You caught our attention very well by the lead-in’s with dialog. Nice post.

  3. ng says:

    What a great mom! I loved your use of “scrub, scrub, scrub”! Yay, baseball!

  4. the other ruth says:

    I’m so glad you’re excited–and love the descriptions of the stains. So well-written! Play ball!

  5. Deb says:

    “Scrubbing away the winter blues” – that just makes one happy about scrubbing.

  6. Stephanie says:

    What a great attitude — you know you love someone or something when they actually make you look forward to laundry! Loved the hyphenated adjectives!

  7. Amanda says:

    I too loved the stain descriptions. We’re not there yet, but I’m sure those days will arrive before I’m ready! Best of luck for a great season! 🙂

Leave a Reply

