SOLSC: Roto Rooter, Where are You?

March 5, 2012

“AAAAWWWWWW – SSTTTOOOP. DON’T FLUSH THE TOILET!!!!” I yelled from the basement.

Too late.

I was downstairs, starting my first load of laundry for the evening. While hanging up the clothes from the dryer, water began to gush from the connecting washing-machine hose. Pushing the knob in, I shoved a bucket under the pipe trying to catch the fountain when I heard the flush.! My eyes bulged as my brain dashed with thoughts. Where was someone? Make it stop!

Bucket. Water gushing, gushing, gushing!

“HELLLPPPPP!” At that moment, my oldest finally had heard my desperation and had rushed in for a rescue. “What’s happened?”

“AWWWW!!!” My words were stuck in my stunned-panicked-I-don’t-know-what-to-do brain.

Wesley doubled over and started laughing. Laughing. Can you believe that?

Well, yes, I can. It was really a crazy turn to my afternoon. While laughing, Wes grabbed another bucket and rescued me. We switched back and forth panning the water out.

Just a few minutes ago, my daughter took her shower. I was waiting with the bucket and she finished quickly. My husband already called Roto Rooter and left a message. (We predict the tree roots are stopping the water line again.) And now I have a story to share with you, a memory I will not forget.